Rachel Discovers Happiness

my life and road to happiness

Powerful Images Of 2011

As part of my morning news ritual, I always go on my phone first and look at the articles that are listed as the morning’s top stories. I then bookmark them, move to my computer, and read the news stories that get sent to my e-mail account. One of the stories I saw this morning caught my eye, but then I got distracted and didn’t have a chance to read it.

When I got home from dinner with my step mom, a friend had posted the link to that exact story on my Facebook wall. I’m so glad that she did. Not only did I get the chance to read the article: The 45 Most Powerful Images of 2011 published by BuzzFeed, but I was blown away by the impact each of the images made on me.

Now, you probably don’t know this about me because, well, this is only the fourth (?) post on my blog, but I really like to take pictures. I believe that pictures can convey emotion and say so much that an article or even a video can’t. It’s so powerful to look at a photograph and feel the strength of whatever emotion floods you when your eyes first scan the image.

As I was scrolling through this photo article, I was flooded with so much raw emotion as I reflected on the biggest news stories and events that occurred during the past year. Not only is it dumbfounding how cruel human beings can be to each other (terrorist attacks, pepper spraying protesters, etc.), it is also amazing how much love pours out for that same exact race (gay marriage laws being overturned, the dedication of a dog to his fallen owner, etc.) I also find it fascinating, that amidst all that hate, love, and destruction, something always comes along to make us feel small again, unify us in the human race, and put everything into perspective… and no, I’m not talking about Harold Camping’s predictions about the Rapture. I’m talking about the earthquakes, tsunamis, tornados, and malnourishment that touches the lives of so many around the world.

My heart sincerely goes out to all the people pictured in the photographs (with the exception, maybe, of Harold Camping… I kid, I kid).

I strongly encourage you to take a bit of time out of your day to look at these pictures. You will not be disappointed. Here is the link again, just in case you missed it before: The 45 Most Powerful Images of 2011

Single Post Navigation

Let me know your thoughts

