Rachel Discovers Happiness

my life and road to happiness

Welcome to Happiness

Hello!

Some of you already know me from my other blog – Rachel Helen: Thoughts on Life and the World I Live In (wow, I must come up with a more catchy title for that blog). Anyway, I’m Rachel.

Me and my niece, Madison (I'm the one who is old enough to drive)

Recently I read a book called The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. My older sister, Caitlin, and her friend Ayesha recommended it to me. The book is Rubin’s account of her year “trying to sing in the morning, clean my closets, fight right, read Aristotle, and generally have more fun.”

Because this is my first post, I won’t get into all the details of the book (which you should buy and read without me telling you the details). Basically, Rubin was inspired to start her Happiness Project because she wasn’t depressed, she wasn’t sad, she wasn’t even unhappy, but she thought that there might be a way to make herself more happy.

That’s kind of my mentality behind starting my own version of a Happiness Project (although I have suffered from some of the aforementioned issues). She has a sort of template to use, but I will probably create my own template which integrates certain aspects of hers as well. But, once again, I will get into that later.

Basically, I just wanted to introduce you to my blog and announce my goals for 2012 (I hate the term “resolution” because I feel as though it sets you up for inevitable failure… especially New Year’s resolutions… and, of course, that will be a post for later).

My main goal for 2012 is simple: find things that make me happier, figure out how to incorporate them in my daily life, and blog about them.

I will introduce my other goals as I continue this blog (and as they come to me).

This blog, just like me, is a work in progress.

I’m sure, just like me, it will change and evolve over time. (I know, evolve isn’t technically the correct word to use here, but it sounded good, didn’t it?)

Anyway, that’s the quick introduction. I hope you stick around and read more of what I have to say. I can’t promise I will post every day, but I can promise that I will try to be informative and entertaining when I do.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Happiness

  1. I’m like number 20 in the waiting line for this book at the library – but as soon as I get it, I hope I’m as inspired as you. I’ll keep following to see how you’ve found happier. : )

    • I highly recommend it. Not because it is superbly written (I will write about my frustration in a later post – but mostly I am annoyed with her lack of citations), but because I think it gives each of us a wonderful opportunity to look at our own lives and decide how we want to improve ourselves. Are you getting the book from the library? Let me know if you have questions/want to talk through ideas! What other types of books do you enjoy reading?

Let me know your thoughts

