Rachel Discovers Happiness

my life and road to happiness

Splurges

This weekend I drove down to San Luis Obispo for my friend Stephanie’s 23rd birthday. Weekends like that always end up costing more money than fit into my budget. Normally I don’t think about how much money I want to spend while I’m down there, but this time I did. I was so proud of myself! I didn’t spend more than $50, and that included meals, bars, taxis, and shopping. How did I do it? I have no idea, but it was amazing.

I have been budgeting, paying attention to my finances, figuring out how to organize my receipts, and working with my online banking/accounts to get myself organized and keep myself on track. It also helps that GOOD does their “30 Days of Good” and this month they are targeting finances.

But this post is more about what I AM going to spend money on, than how I’m organizing my finances. I’ve decided that there are some things that are worth spending money on. Like BufferApp – the application I use to schedule my Tweets. Or a stand and an external keyboard and mouse for my laptop so that I can be more comfortable as I work – ergonomics aren’t a joke! My back has been killing me!

Oh, and I’m also willing to spend money on clothes… because I  love clothes. And I have to build my professional wardrobe. And my every day wardrobe. And my shoe collection. And jewelry. And things for the apartment in San Francisco that I will move into in the semi-near future.

But you know, those are the only splurges I’ll make 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Let me know your thoughts

