Rachel Discovers Happiness

my life and road to happiness

Living the Dream

…Or at least Googling pictures of the dream and saving them to my desktop.

That’s how I feel every time Awards Season is upon us. And, of course, it always kicks off with the Golden Globes. As with any awards show, the Red Carpet is a huge part of the show’s broadcast. The fashion is not only talked about over the next few days, but years to come.

Now, some of you might cringe at this, but I tend to care more about the fashion of the night than who actually wins the awards. There is a reason for this, and that is that I am not very well versed in pop culture and movies/TV shows.

  1. I don’t have enough time/money to go to the movies every time something I want to see comes to theaters
  2. I don’t have enough time to watch all the shows I want to want (Revenge, that means you)
  3. Even though I read Glamour and People, watch the TV shows I have time for, pay attention to entertainment news, I STILL can’t remember the names of actors and actresses, who’s dating whom, and who starred in which film. As much as I wish it did, my brain just doesn’t work like that.
This makes it very difficult to contribute to conversations surrounding such topics. Especially when my best friends are so well versed in pop culture that they generally know who in Hollywood broke up, got back together, is engaged, is having a baby, or is starring in which film before the actors themselves even know.

So anyway, although I do watch the full show and see who wins, place my predictions, etc. my preferences are generally unfounded and only come from which movies I have heard about in conversation and which (few) actors I can remember.

I do, however, LOVE the Red Carpet. I love watching the coverage, switching through all the channels that have coverage of the night so as not to miss a single dress, earring, or sequin that makes its way down that carpet. I love reading the best and worst articles that come out over the course of a few days after the event. I love watching the TV specials about who looked surprisingly fantastic, and who completely bombed the night in their attempt to be fashion forward.

Because of this, I tend to develop my own opinions of the best and worst dressed of the night. I am not a fashionista (despite my desire to be) which means that my opinions don’t always parallel those published on sites such as Glamour, E!, and just about every other entertainment website online. That doesn’t stop me, however, from dreaming about wearing any and every dress that appears at an awards show (yes, the good, the bad, or the ugly – I wouldn’t be picky).

Although the fashion at the Golden Globes tends to be known for its fun than it’s elegance (like the Academy Awards), it is still known for its beauty, high end designers, and daring choices.

Alright, how that I’ve written your eyes off, if you will, here are my favorite dresses from the 2012 Golden Globes (not in any particular order).

Charlize Theron (via Glamour)

Didn’t like the big bow (which she always does), but I loved the cut of the dress, shoes, clutch, and the hair/headband.

Shailene Woodley (via Glamour)

Glamour thought this dress looked like a wedding dress. I loved it anyway. I missed her on the runway so every time The Descendants won an award I just wanted her to stand up so I could see the dress in its entirety.

Selma Hayek (via Glamour)

She always looks so beautiful. I wonder how heavy that dress was, though…

Jane Fonda (via The International Business Times)

I don’t know why, but I loved this. She looked fantastic when she was presenting!

Nicole Richie (via Glamour)

I don’t know what it was about this dress, but I though it looked great on her. I loved the back. Also, her hair looked awesome.

Kate Beckinsale (via Glamour)

Pure elegance.

Emma Stone (via Glamour)

Perfect for her age and attitude.

Diane Lane (via Glamour)

I loved the gold color. It was elegant, sexy, and classy all at the same time. Diane looked fantastic.

Claire Danes (via Glamour)

Although I would not choose this dress for myself, I absolutely loved the back of it. Somehow, it just worked for her.

Julianna Margulies (via FabSugar.com)

I just want to say that I love Julianna. At first I wasn’t a fan of the green in the earrings with the purple of the dress, but as I saw her more and more, it began to grow on me.

Jeannie Mai (via MyStyle.com)

Every time they showed Jeannie interviewing somebody, I swooned a bit. She looked fantastic! Too bad I couldn’t find a picture of the back of her dress which was stunning.

Debra Messing (via PurseBlog.com)

Love the dress. Love the hair. Love the makeup. Love the accessories. Love her.

Sarah Hyland (via NY Daily News)

This was a perfect dress choice for Sarah. It made her look sophisticated at her 21 years of age. Too bad her zipper broke as she was walking down the Red Carpet!

Reese Witherspoon (via NY Daily News)

Always a favorite. Need I say more?

Michelle Williams (via NY Daily News)

Although the dress wasn’t necessarily one of my favorites, I loved Michelle’s cute haircut and headband. It tied the outfit together perfectly. I always love her. Not to mention that I think she is so poised and speaks so eloquently. Hello, when she thanked her daughter? Can you say waterworks?!

Laura Dern (via NY Daily News)

Another one that took a bit of time to grow on me. Still not a fan of the belt, but I love everything else about it.

Sofia Vergara (via Glamour)

Of course. Love the cut and the color. To quote LMFAO: Girl, look at that body.

And now for the dresses I didn’t like, or was disappointed by:

Busy Philipps (via TheSimplyLuxuriousLife.com)

Oh come on Audrey (Busy’s character in Dawson’s Creek), what were you thinking? Loved the hair, but the dress?

Tilda Swinton (via NY Daily News)

I never like her. I mean, the dress is one thing, but the hair? Ugh, it makes me upset to look at. Sorry.

Natalie Portman (via NY Daily News)

Now, before you chastise me, I love Natalie Portman. But she can do better than this. She was even pregnant at the 2011 Golden Globes and still managed to be on just about everybody’s “Best Dressed” lists*.

Mila Kunis (via NY Daily News)

Another disappointment. Love Mila, like the dress, but not for the Red Carpet. Don’t get me wrong, I would totally wear that dress, but after last year’s gorgeous green number, this dress made me sad.

Kate Winslet (via NY Daily News)

She always looks pretty, but we all know she has the ability to look stunning. Unfortunately, this wasn’t one of those times.

Jessica Biel (via NY Daily News)

Sorry, but who picked out the doily for Jessica? Not my fave.

Freida Pinto (via NY Daily News)

Beautiful, but not exciting enough!

Dianna Agron (via NY Daily News)

That last dress didn’t have enough excitement, this one has too much. Even though the color was great, I just don’t like everything that the dress has going on! Dianna was another woman who looked stunning last year, but didn’t bring it for me this year.

Amanda Peet (via NY Daily News)

All I can say is: nope.

Other thoughts that crossed my mind as I was watching the broadcast:

And just a bit of Madonna humor:

What are your thoughts on the fashion from the start of the 2012 Awards Season? Do you agree with my selections? Which ones would you have included that I didn’t?

*As a general rule, I think I liked last year’s fashion a lot better for some reason. Don’t know why, but it just spoke to me more.

Single Post Navigation

Let me know your thoughts

