Rachel Discovers Happiness

my life and road to happiness

The Future of Social Media: Social Bookmarking

I’m not sure if I mentioned that a lot of big things have been happening in my life over the past few weeks. I can’t explain them here just yet because I don’t want to jinx anything, but I will write about them soon enough (cross your fingers that things work out). Because of these things, I have been all over the Bay Area within the past week which hasn’t left too much time for blogging. I’m sorry I’ve been MIA.

Although I have been busy, I have had the opportunity to speak to a lot of different people about social media and how it is used by businesses to increase their visibility in the public eye. Yesterday I had a particularly interesting conversation with somebody about what the future of social media is. It got me thinking…

When she first asked me what I though the “next big thing” was going to be in social media, I thought for half a second and then replied with “social bookmarking sites.” We talked about it for a few minutes and then moved on. But even after our conversation was over and I was on my way home, that question stuck with me. What IS the future of social media? What will be the next site everybody’s talking about? We’ve already had Facebook which connects us with our friends, Twitter which allows us to follow celebrities and industry news, and crossovers between the two. New social media sites are being developed every day; I even had to create a separate email account so that I could send all my social media update emails there instead of getting them in my regular inbox. The most recent social media site that everybody is talking about, however, is Pinterest.

I won’t get into long drawn out detail about what Pinterest is – if you don’t already know, you should go take a look at the site. Beware, it’s addicting. Basically, though, it’s a social bookmarking site. You find something online that you like (with Pinterest it’s pictures), click the handy dandy “Pin It” button that you install on your browser’s toolbar, and then everybody who follows you can see what you’ve pinned. Simple enough, right?

Anyway, there are more and more sites like Pinterest that are coming out. SnipIt is one of my other favorites. I use SnipIt for news (three of my boars are SnipIt “favorites” and are featured on the main pages covering their topics) and articles whereas I use Pinterest for all things pretty and creative. People like to be in charge of the kind of information they read about/look at on the internet and sites such as Pinterest, SnipIt, ChimeIn, Digg, Reddit and StumbleUpon allow users to post links that they find amusing and share them with their followers. These platforms also give users the ability to choose their interests and find articles/information/pictures/blog posts on topics that they select, rather than topics chosen at random or “trending” topics (AKA topics that are most popular/talked about at that time).

Within the past 12 hours I have read a few articles about what the future of social media is. According to the YouTube CEO, the future of content is niche channels.

An article published today on Mashable states:

The way consumers access and consume media is changing rapidly, YouTube head Salar Kamangar believes, and YouTube is evolving to accommodate it.

“We’re entering the third wave of media,” Kamangar said […] “The first wave was the broadcast networks. The second wave was cable networks. Now it’s about giving people exactly what they want to watch today,”

People have specific interests in a variety of topics — say, yoga and stand-up surfing — but it’s difficult to find a continuous stream of video content catered to those interests, Kamangar contends.

What do you think? Do you agree with this assessment of changes in social media and news sites? How do you follow your interests online? What are your favorite social bookmarking sites?

Single Post Navigation

Let me know your thoughts

