Rachel Discovers Happiness

my life and road to happiness

Photo-A-Day 2012: Week 8

Normally I don’t post twice in one day, but earlier today I said that I would do my Picture-A-Day post that I neglected last week. I wasn’t about to go back on that commitment.

February 18 - our first home made meal at the apartment (of course it was spaghetti)

That is something I’m trying to work on – sticking to things that I say I’m going to do. Now, I’m not a complete flake, in my professional life I’m very good at getting things done by a deadline. I’m dedicated to my work, and I come by that naturally (both of my parents are very dedicated to their jobs – it’s genetics). But in my personal life, sometimes I say I’m going to do something and then end up getting too tired, or I forget, or whatever, but I’m trying to work on that. It’s something that bothers me about other people, so I feel as though I should change it in myself as well.

February 19 - my receipt.. I've never seen my name spelled like that... ever.

Here’s another confession, as if I haven’t revealed enough of my shortcomings today, I didn’t take a picture one day last week – February 20 to be exact. I could come up with some sort of excuse about being ridiculously busy and having a bunch of other stuff to finish (like finally getting my apartment completely set up and worked out), but the fact is, I simply forgot.

So sue me.

There’s no reason to beat myself up for missing the photo opp. In order to make up for it, though, I tried to take more pictures throughout the rest of the week. I’m disappointed in myself that I broke my new year’s resolution, but it was just one day and the point of the exercise isn’t necessarily to take a picture every single day – it’s more to use a camera more, whether it be my Canon Rebel or my iPhone.

February 21 - a rip in my tights 😦 and I love those tights! oh well

February 22 - I decided to walk to work and took pictures along the way

February 22 - China Town

February 22

February 23 - the staircase in my building

February 23 - one of my favorite buildings in San Francisco

February 23 - view of Alcatraz from Union St

February 24 - my new friend on my desk at work

February 25 - "breakfast" at Ikea (before we went shopping to finish decorating our apartment)

February 26 - meet Teddy, I've had him since I was 25 days old 🙂

February 27 - "because the best monsters are actually good on the inside" (makes me think of Monster's Inc.)

And a bonus one from my wanderings around San Francisco.. just because I like this one 🙂

How was your weekend? Did you do anything special?

I hope your Monday went well!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Photo-A-Day 2012: Week 8

  1. Catia on said:

    These are beautiful photos! I’m inspired by your Photo-A-Day work! Perhaps I’ll have to try a Photo-A-Day-For-A-Month sometime soon!
    Peace and Grace,
    Catia

    • Hi Catia,

      Thank you so much for your kind words, I am so glad I was able to inspire you! I definitely encourage you to try any type of Photo-A-Day project. If you are on Instagram, find “@fastmumslim” – she does a photo a day every month and gives you ideas for what to take a picture of. Find #marchphotoaday for this month’s challenge 🙂

      Let me know if you end up doing a photo project! I’d love to see it.

      Best,
      Rachel

  2. I often plan a full schedule of all the things I would like to get done, and 1/2 way through the day, realize I took on way to much! At least I still have wishful thinking! 🙂

    • Planning to do something is half the fun – even if you don’t get a chance to get things done the way you’d hoped. But then, when you DO hit some sort of crazy productivity inspiration and DO manage to get everything done, you feel like superwoman!

Let me know your thoughts

