Rachel Discovers Happiness

my life and road to happiness

SXSW Dilemma

Okay, so here’s the scoop:

I won tickets to a convention called South By Southwest Interactive (SXSWi) in Austin, TX. I entered a contest on Twitter* not thinking that I would win, but I did.

The ticket only covers the entrance (something that I could never afford on my own), which means that I’d have to purchase a plane ticket – I have a friend who lives in Austin, the lovely Nikol over at Who’s Austin, which means that I would stay with her and not have to worry about a hotel.

It’s going to be expensive (plane ticket and food), but would it be totally worth it? It sounds like the kind of thing I would absolutely love – start-ups, tech presentations, networking, social media – all things I love!

A few thoughts:

  • I would be going alone, which means I would be completely out of my comfort zone.
  • I never do anything spontaneous which means that this would be kind of a first for me.
  • I made a decision that I want to be more outgoing and likable.
  • I never win anything, so to win something this big is kind of intense.
  • I’ve never been to Texas.

Would it be crazy if I went? Would it be crazy if I didn’t go? Thoughts?

*The contest I entered and the company I won from are completely unrelated to any clients I work with.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “SXSW Dilemma

  1. YOU MUST COME!

    The parties are going to be ridiculous. The conventions are going to be beyond amazing. I don’t have anyone to go with me since I’m a newbie here in Austin. You do conferences during the day while I work to network (there are some amazing tech companies that are going to be here) then we’ll do the night scene together! It was meant to be!

  2. Most definitely you should come to Austin! SXSW is like NYE in Times Square or Mardi Gras in NOLA. Something you must do at least once in a lifetime.

  3. Definitely GO! Opportunity is knocking at your door! It’s time to answer it and say YES! Have a great time! 🙂

  4. Definitely GO! Opportunity is knocking at your door, it’s time to aswer it and say yes!!! Have a great time! 🙂

  5. Stephanie on said:

    GO GO GO GO. The name of your blog is Rachel Discovers Happiness. This would be a step in that direction. It seems right up your alley and you could make some irreplaceable contacts. If nothing else, you’ll learn so much.
    Love love love you.

  6. I would say absolutely go, Rach–especially if you can afford it. It’s the perfect place for you, and so awesome that you won! I think it’s a really great opportunity, especially when it’s such a great place to network in everything you’re interested in.

    • Hey Sam, Thanks for your input 🙂 I asked my supervisor if I can get time off – now it’s just the waiting game, then buying the plane ticket! I’ll keep you updated 🙂

  7. First of all, you are likable already. Secondly, SXSW is the perfect venue for you to network. I have friends going this year from Proxart Magazine, an artist magazine of suburbia if you will. They only started two years ago, and they’re going to SXSW now. So, I think that professionally for you, it would be a great opportunity. Thirdly, coming from one who is not spontaneous, these chances are rare, and you are young. Take advantage now, and the cost will be returned. Fourthly, you are capable of traveling by yourself. You’ve already been abroad. I have trouble going places by myself, and I do find it challenging, but waiting for other people to go is also challenging, and you never get to go anywhere. Seriously, Rachel, I think you should do it. Oh, and Congratulations!

    • Thank you so much Ayesha! I love getting your input – and everybody at work agrees with you! I do think it would be a great experience. I’m just nervous.

      However, the fact that I have so many people encouraging me to go makes me think that is the right decision.

      🙂

Let me know your thoughts

