Rachel Discovers Happiness

my life and road to happiness

Lather, Rinse, Repeat

You want to know how I know I’m a grown-up?

photo from poundingtherock.com

Because I can’t afford to buy shampoo that I actually like.

When I was living at home my parents always bought whatever shampoo and conditioner we wanted, even if this meant buying three different types of hair products because we all had different tastes. I never realized how expensive that is until I moved in to my own apartment… that is, two and a half months ago.

In an effort to be environmentally and fiscally friendly, I decided to try a different type* of shampoo – a type that claims to be 94 percent biodegradable and also happened to be one of the cheapest ones on the shelf per fluid ounce. I’ve used this brand before and liked how it made my hair feel so I figured this would be fine.

I was wrong.

I feel a bit like this sloth (photo from memegenerator.net)

The first time I used it I noticed that my hair looked and felt dirty about half way through the day. I figured I didn’t rinse well enough.

The second, third and fourth times I used it, I noticed the same thing.

When I decided I didn’t want to use the shampoo anymore, I realized that I couldn’t just stop using it… I’d spent $4 on each of those bottles – that’s $8 of my hard earned money and there is no way I was going to just waste it!

Instead of wasting it, I had to figure out a way to make it work for me. I figured out that if I wash my hair with shampoo, then use conditioner and then use the shampoo again, it ends up faring pretty well. Plus, if I shampoo twice every day, the bottle will run out quicker.

How pathetic am I? Have you had any experiences like that – the type that really opens your eyes to the fact that you are a grown-up living on your own?

photo from animal-space.net

Some day I will be able to afford the kind of shampoo I like to use. Until then, I will continue to lather, rinse, condition, rinse, lather, rinse.

*I purposefully left out the brand of not only the brand I am using now, but also the brand I prefer. My hair is weird and gets oily really quickly which means I have to wash it every day. It also reacts weirdly to certain types of shampoo/conditioners as you can probably tell from this post. I don’t want to put anybody off of purchasing any type of shampoo because it didn’t work for me. I hope that the biodegradable shampoo works for somebody because I believe that sustainability and eco-friendly products are very important.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Lather, Rinse, Repeat

  1. My hair is like yours, in terms of getting oily really quickly, so I too have to wash my hair everyday. I simply cannot buy the cheap generic brands, specifically because the condition does absolutely nothing for my thick hair.

    I know what you mean with the whole grown-up thing though. I lived on my own for about two years, and it’s amazing how much differently you think of money when you’re the one spending it on groceries, hair products, etc. I can totally understand your not wanting to waste the shampoo and conditioner you bought.

    • Yeah, it’s so frustrating! I got my hair cut this weekend and the lady scolded me on washing every day – I can’t help it!

      What kind of shampoo do you use? I’m trying to find a good one 🙂

      • I got my hair cut on Tuesday and I received the same scolding! Too funny.
        I actually switch my brands pretty much every time I finish the bottles. Right now I’m using Tresemme 24 hour body shampoo and conditioner. This is the first time I’ve used Tresemme in years, and I actually really like it! Otherwise I usually use Herbal Essences or Garnier.

Let me know your thoughts

